Why Most Shilajit COAs Are Misleading — What Buyers Should Actually Look For
Share
If you have ever tried to verify the quality of a Shilajit product by looking at its certificate of analysis, you already know how confusing it can be. Numbers appear without context. Lab names you have never heard of. Fulvic acid percentages that seem impossibly high. Heavy metal results that look clean but tell you almost nothing.
The uncomfortable truth is that a COA can be completely real — issued by a real, accredited laboratory — and still be misleading. The report might be stale, mismatched to the batch you received, selectively published, missing the unit context needed to interpret it, based on a method that cannot be compared with another brand’s result, or interpreted beyond what the document actually supports.
This is a different problem from COA forgery or fabrication. This article is about the gap between a document that exists and a document that is genuinely useful for the decision you are trying to make.
Why a Real COA Can Still Be Misleading
Most COA guidance focuses on identifying fake or forged documents. That is a genuine problem — but it is only part of the issue. The following scenarios involve real laboratory documents that nonetheless fail to support the claims being made around them.
1. The Report Is Real But Belongs to the Wrong Batch
A COA is only valid for the specific batch it was issued against. A brand that tested one batch and continues to display that report for all subsequent products is not providing meaningful current assurance. The product you receive may have been manufactured months or years after the tested batch, from different raw material, with a different contamination profile.
Look for a batch number on the COA that matches the batch on the product you are purchasing. If the batch numbers do not match, the report does not apply to your product.
2. The Report Is Current But Missing Key Context
A recent, batch-matched COA can still be incomplete. Common omissions include:
- Missing sample number or report number — removing the ability to verify with the laboratory directly
- No serving-size context — making exposure calculations impossible
- Original units omitted or silently converted — so results cannot be compared with their reference standards
- Detection and reporting limits not stated — making “not detected” results uninterpretable
- Cropped or incomplete pages — showing only the favourable sections
3. Selective Publication of Favourable Results
A brand may have received a multi-page COA covering heavy metals, microbial safety, moisture, fulvic acid, and other parameters — and publish only the pages that look best. The pages not shown may contain results that are less flattering or that exceed relevant thresholds for certain standards.
A complete, trustworthy COA is published in full. If a brand shows only a summary page or a subset of test results without explanation, what is omitted may be as important as what is shown.
4. Method Differences Make Results Non-Comparable
Two brands may each publish a real, accredited-lab COA for fulvic acid content and report numbers that differ significantly — not because one product is better, but because they used different analytical methods. Fulvic acid testing lacks a universally adopted standard, and different methods — colorimetric assays, gravimetric fractionation, HPLC, ISO 5073:2021 — can produce materially different values from the same sample.
When a COA does not name the analytical method, the result cannot be evaluated or compared. The method is not a technical footnote — it is essential context for interpreting the number.
5. Accreditation Scope Is Conflated With Individual Test Accreditation
A laboratory can hold ISO/IEC 17025 accreditation for many of its analytical scopes while conducting other analyses outside that accredited scope. Buyers who assume that an ISO 17025 accredited laboratory automatically accredits every analysis on every report it issues may be misreading what the accreditation covers.
Laboratory accreditation and the accreditation scope of an individual analysis are not the same thing. Buyers should check the notes and symbols on each reported test — asterisks or similar markers often indicate that a specific analysis falls outside the accredited scope shown on the report.
6. Marketing Claims Exceed What the Report Actually Supports
A brand may publish a genuine COA and then make marketing claims that go beyond what the document confirms. A clean heavy-metals result for lead does not confirm the product is free from all contaminants. A fulvic acid percentage without a method reference does not confirm the fulvic acid fraction is what the brand implies. A current batch COA does not confirm that all previous batches were equivalent.
The question to ask is: does this specific COA actually support the specific claim being made?
What Is a Shilajit COA and Why Does It Matter?
A certificate of analysis is a document issued by a laboratory that reports the chemical composition and safety profile of a specific tested sample. For Shilajit, a COA should tell you what is in it, whether it meets relevant safety thresholds, and which methods were used to determine those answers.
In a well-functioning market, COAs are issued by accredited third-party laboratories with no financial relationship with the brand. In the Shilajit market, this process frequently breaks down. Some brands test in-house. Others use unaccredited labs. Many publish only the results that look favourable. A few use reports from entirely different batches or products.
For buyers, this creates a compound problem: not only may the document be incomplete or selectively presented, but you may also have limited tools for evaluating it without knowing what to look for.
The Most Common Documentation Gaps
Incomplete Heavy Metal Panels
Heavy metal contamination is the most serious safety concern with Shilajit. A complete heavy metals panel must include lead (Pb), arsenic (As), cadmium (Cd), and mercury (Hg). Many COAs report only one or two. A COA showing only lead — or showing lead as not detected while omitting arsenic and cadmium — is not a clean result. It is an incomplete one.
The appropriate testing method for heavy metals is ICP-MS (Inductively Coupled Plasma Mass Spectrometry), which detects metals at parts per billion. If a COA does not specify ICP-MS methodology, the detection limits may be too high to identify contamination at levels that still exceed relevant safety thresholds.
A note on arsenic: Total arsenic and inorganic arsenic are different measurements. Some regulatory warning thresholds — including those referenced in California Prop 65 — apply specifically to inorganic arsenic, not total arsenic. A COA reporting total arsenic should not automatically be interpreted as confirming inorganic arsenic levels. Check which measurement is stated on the report.
Unrealistic Fulvic Acid Claims
Fulvic acid is the primary bioactive compound of interest in Shilajit. Fulvic-acid results are batch- and method-specific. Different analytical methods may produce different values from the same material, so no single numeric range should be treated as a universal definition of authentic or high-quality Shilajit.
The most common source of inflated fulvic acid figures involves using non-specific colorimetric assays that measure total humic substances rather than isolating the fulvic acid fraction. When a COA does not name the method, a buyer has no way to assess whether the reported percentage reflects actual fulvic acid content or a broader humic substance measurement. For a full breakdown of method differences, see the truth about fake fulvic acid claims in Shilajit.
Unrecognised or Unverifiable Laboratories
Some COAs list lab names that do not appear in any public accreditation database. Search for the laboratory name in the ILAC MRA database at ilac.org or your national accreditation body. If the lab does not appear, the accreditation claim cannot be independently confirmed.
Units, Serving Size and Reporting Limits
Unit and context requirements for COA interpretation:
- µg/g (micrograms per gram), µg/serving and µg/day are different expressions. Converting between them requires a clearly stated serving size. A result in µg/g cannot be compared with an exposure threshold stated in µg/day without knowing the serving size and density.
- g/100g and % are numerically equivalent but the original unit stated on the report should be preserved. Silent conversion or rounding introduces ambiguity.
- A result marked “<” means the measured value is below the stated reporting threshold — it does not mean zero.
- A result marked “ND” means not detected under the stated method and reporting conditions — it should not automatically be rewritten as zero.
- Both “<” and “ND” results are only informative when the reporting threshold is stated and is below the relevant safety or specification limit being referenced.
What a Complete Shilajit COA Should Include
| Element | What to Look For |
|---|---|
| Lab name and accreditation | ISO/IEC 17025 accredited, independently verifiable via ILAC MRA |
| Report / certificate number | Present and usable for direct lab verification |
| Sample number | Present and matching the batch/product received |
| Test methodology | ICP-MS for metals; named validated method for fulvic acid |
| Heavy metals panel | Lead, arsenic, cadmium, mercury — all four with detection limits and units |
| Fulvic acid result | Result stated with laboratory, analytical method, original units and batch number |
| Microbial testing | Total plate count, yeast, mould, E. coli, Salmonella |
| Batch number | Matching the product you are purchasing |
| Test date and report date | Both present, recent, and consistent |
| Detection/reporting limits | Listed for each analyte |
| Accreditation scope notes | Check asterisks or markers for individual test scope |
| Document format | Full PDF — not a cropped screenshot |
About Independent Testing — Golden Shilajit Official
Eurofins Scientific is an independent testing laboratory used in Golden Shilajit Official’s published batch documentation. Third-party testing means the sample is sent to a laboratory with no commercial relationship with the brand. Misrepresenting third-party laboratory documentation can create serious reputational and commercial consequences for any brand that does so.
Laboratory accreditation and the accreditation scope of an individual analysis are not the same thing. On the Eurofins reports referenced here, the fulvic-acid analysis is marked with an asterisk indicating that this analysis/component is outside the ISO-accredited scope shown on the report. This note should not be generalised to unrelated analyses on the same report, such as the ICP-MS heavy-metal entries, which appear separately and carry their own scope status.
Active batch documentation — Golden Shilajit Official:
Batch SLJT01LQ
Eurofins Report 4999802-0 — Sample 15422471
Bureau Veritas Report 1086405
Batch HI-SHL-0226
Eurofins Report 5374116-0 — Sample 16388887
Anresco Order 960349 — Sample 1352051
TTI fulvic testing
Results are batch-specific and should not be averaged or applied across batches. Full reports are available on the Lab Reports page. For a full overview of the testing methodology, see our testing process.
Comparison: Complete Documentation vs. Common Shortcuts
| Testing Factor | Complete Standard | Common Shortcut |
|---|---|---|
| Lab independence | Third-party, ISO/IEC 17025 accredited | In-house or unaccredited lab |
| Heavy metals method | ICP-MS, all four metals with detection limits | Single metal, unspecified method |
| Fulvic acid result | Result stated with laboratory, analytical method, original units and batch number | Percentage only, no method or batch context |
| Batch matching | COA matches current batch and product | Old COA reused across batches |
| Microbial testing | Full panel including pathogens | Omitted or partial |
| Public availability | Full COA published and verifiable by report number | Summary only, or selective pages |
ICP-MS Testing: Why the Method Matters as Much as the Result
ICP-MS is the most sensitive method available for detecting trace metals in supplements, capable of measuring concentrations at parts per billion. For Shilajit, safety thresholds for heavy metals are set at very low concentrations. A method with a higher detection limit might report a metal as “not detected” simply because its sensitivity is insufficient — not because the metal is absent at a meaningful level.
When a COA specifies ICP-MS methodology, it confirms that the results are capable of detecting metals at the concentrations that matter for safety assessment. When a COA omits the methodology entirely, the sensitivity of the measurement is unknown.
How to Evaluate Whether a COA Is Actually Useful
The following checklist is designed for the question “is this COA sufficient to support the claim being made?” — not just “is this document real?”
- Confirm the batch. Does the batch number on the COA match the batch number on the product you received? If not, the report does not apply.
- Check the report and sample numbers. Are a report number and sample number present? These are required for direct verification with the laboratory.
- Check the report date. Is the test date consistent with the current batch? A report older than 18–24 months may not reflect current production.
- Identify the laboratory. Search the lab name in the ILAC MRA database at ilac.org to confirm accreditation. Check whether individual analyses on the report are within the accredited scope shown.
- Check the analytical method. Is the method named for each test? ICP-MS for heavy metals; a named validated method for fulvic acid. If omitted, the result cannot be fully evaluated.
- Preserve original units. Are results stated in their original units (µg/g, g/100g, cfu/g)? Unit conversion without a stated serving size makes exposure comparison impossible.
- Check “<” and “ND” results. Are reporting thresholds stated alongside these results? A threshold above the relevant safety limit makes a “not detected” result uninformative for safety purposes.
- Count the heavy metals. Are lead, arsenic, cadmium and mercury all present with numeric values and detection limits?
- Check arsenic speciation. Does the report state total arsenic or inorganic arsenic? These are different measurements and are not interchangeable for regulatory comparisons.
- Check completeness. Is the full COA available, including microbial results, moisture, and other relevant parameters? Selective publication of favourable pages is a common shortcut.
- Check what the COA actually supports. Does this specific document actually confirm the specific marketing claim being made about it?
For a detailed field-by-field reading guide, see How to Read a Shilajit Certificate of Analysis. For identifying forged or fabricated documents, see How to Spot a Fake Shilajit COA.
Sourcing and Its Effect on COA Results
Where Shilajit is sourced affects the baseline mineral environment before purification. Shilajit from high-altitude formations in the Pakistan Himalayas tends to have a different mineral profile than material from lower altitudes or geologically different regions. Altitude affects agricultural runoff and industrial contamination exposure, but does not guarantee a clean result — heavy metals occur naturally in all geological formations.
Sourcing transparency is meaningful context for interpreting a COA, not a substitute for it. A brand that cannot specify origin, altitude and purification method cannot give you the information needed to understand what its test results represent.
The Industry Reality
The Shilajit market has grown rapidly. Demand has outpaced regulation, and the barrier to entry for selling supplements online is low. Several structural gaps drive documentation shortfalls: third-party testing is not legally required in most markets; fulvic acid testing lacks a universally adopted standard; comprehensive testing is expensive; and most buyers do not have the background to identify what is missing from a COA they cannot independently verify.
The result is a market where a polished document can create a false sense of security — and where knowing what a COA should contain, and what questions to ask about it, is one of the most practical tools available to a buyer.
Conclusion
A certificate of analysis is only as useful as its completeness, currency and interpretive honesty. The most important question is not whether the document exists — it is whether this specific COA, for this specific batch, with this specific method and these specific units, actually supports the claim being made about the product you are considering.
Brands that publish full, batch-specific documentation from independent laboratories — with report numbers, sample numbers, named methods and stated units — are giving you the tools to evaluate that question independently. Brands that publish only summary results, use old COAs, or omit method details are limiting your ability to do so.
Golden Shilajit Official publishes batch-specific documentation from independent laboratories for its active batches. Reports are available on the Lab Reports page.
Batch-specific reports from Eurofins, Bureau Veritas, Anresco and TTI are publicly available for Golden Shilajit Official’s active batches.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does COA stand for in Shilajit?
COA stands for certificate of analysis. It is a document from a laboratory reporting the chemical composition and safety profile of a specific tested sample, including heavy metal levels, fulvic acid content, and microbial safety.
How do I know if a Shilajit COA is real?
Check that the laboratory is ISO/IEC 17025 accredited by searching its name in the ILAC MRA database at ilac.org. Verify that the COA includes a batch number matching the current product, a report number and sample number, a recent test date, and a complete heavy metals panel using ICP-MS methodology. A real COA can still be misleading if it is stale, batch-mismatched, or selectively presented — so also check that the document applies to the specific product you are receiving.
What heavy metals should a Shilajit COA test for?
A complete panel should include lead, arsenic, cadmium, and mercury — all four, with numeric results, detection limits, and stated units. Selective reporting of only one or two metals is a common documentation gap. For arsenic, check whether the report states total arsenic or inorganic arsenic, as these are different measurements used in different regulatory contexts.
What is ICP-MS and why does it matter for Shilajit testing?
ICP-MS stands for Inductively Coupled Plasma Mass Spectrometry. It is the most sensitive method for detecting trace metals in supplements, capable of measuring concentrations at parts per billion. Safety thresholds for heavy metals are set at very low levels that less sensitive methods may miss — meaning a result of “not detected” from a less sensitive method may not confirm safety at the relevant threshold.
What should I look for in a fulvic acid result on a Shilajit COA?
Fulvic-acid results are batch- and method-specific. A meaningful result identifies the laboratory, analytical method, units and batch. No single numeric range defines high-quality Shilajit across all methods. When no method is named, the result cannot be evaluated or compared with results from other laboratories or methods.
What is Eurofins and why is it significant for Shilajit testing?
Eurofins Scientific is an independent testing laboratory used in Golden Shilajit Official’s published batch documentation. Third-party testing means the laboratory has no commercial relationship with the brand. Note that laboratory accreditation and the accreditation scope of an individual analysis are not the same: on Eurofins reports, some analyses may be marked with an asterisk indicating they are outside the ISO-accredited scope shown on the report. Buyers should check the scope notation for each test on the specific report they are reviewing.
Can a brand selectively publish only part of a COA?
Yes. A brand may receive a multi-page laboratory report and publish only the pages with favourable results. There is no universal requirement to publish the complete document. A COA showing only fulvic acid content, for example, does not confirm heavy metal safety. A complete, trustworthy COA should include all relevant test categories — heavy metals, microbial safety, moisture, and fulvic acid where tested.
Can a brand fake a Shilajit COA?
Yes. Some brands fabricate documents entirely. Others use real COAs from different batches or products. Verifying the laboratory accreditation independently and requesting batch-specific documentation with a report number reduces this risk. For guidance on identifying forged or fabricated documents specifically, see the red flags checklist for spotting a fake Shilajit COA.
Why do some Shilajit COAs show only one or two heavy metals?
Selective reporting is a common documentation gap. Testing all four metals costs more, and a partial panel can still look reassuring to buyers who do not know what is missing. Always check that lead, arsenic, cadmium, and mercury are all present with numeric results and detection limits — not just pass/fail statements.
What is the difference between third-party tested and in-house tested Shilajit?
Third-party testing means an independent laboratory with no financial relationship with the brand conducted the analysis. In-house testing means the brand tested its own product, with no external verification. Third-party testing is more credible because the laboratory has no commercial incentive to report favourable results.
Does a COA guarantee a Shilajit product is authentic?
A COA confirms the chemical profile of a specific tested sample under the conditions and methods stated. It does not guarantee that every batch is identical, that the product you receive matches the tested sample, or that the marketing claims built around it are supported by the document. Batch-specific COAs with report numbers, named methods, and consistent documentation reduce — but do not eliminate — these gaps.
How often should a Shilajit brand update its COA?
Each new production batch should ideally have its own COA. At minimum, COAs should reflect current production. A COA older than 18–24 months, or one that does not carry a batch number matching current stock, should not be treated as current safety documentation.
What is the difference between fulvic acid and humic acid in Shilajit?
Fulvic acid and humic acid are both components of humic substances. Fulvic acid has a lower molecular weight and is more bioavailable. Some testing methods measure total humic substances rather than isolating fulvic acid specifically, which can produce higher reported percentages that do not reflect the actual fulvic acid fraction. The method used determines what the reported figure actually represents.
What should I do if a brand refuses to share its COA?
Do not purchase from that brand. Any legitimate supplement company should be able to provide a current, batch-specific COA from an accredited third-party laboratory on request, including the report number and sample number needed for independent verification.
Related Reading
- How to Read a Shilajit Certificate of Analysis
- How to Spot a Fake Shilajit COA: Red Flags Checklist
- The Truth About Fake Fulvic Acid Claims in Shilajit
- Heavy Metals in Shilajit: What Every Buyer Must Know
- How Eurofins Tests Shilajit
- Fulvic Acid Benefits in Shilajit
- Complete Guide to Authentic Himalayan Shilajit
- View Current Lab Reports
- Our Testing Process